Tooltally scrappin’ weekend: Stamps

Haven’t posted any reviews on our favorite tools lately.. a bit caught up. For this weekend I’d like to talk about stamps. My favorite are clear stamps (Fancy Pants, Autumn Leaves, Prima, Technique Tuesday, Inkadinkado) simply because it’s easier to position on your pages- no guessing game. 🙂 If I’m not sure how the stamp would fit to my layout, I just put it on the mounting block and put it on top of my layout, that way I know exactly how the outcome would be. Just be careful around pictures specially glossy ones coz it tends to stick and might damage your photos.

It’s also easier to store compared to wood mounted ones. There are some that you can “manipulate”: line of dots can be mounted as curves that sort of thing, so instead of buying one of each you can have both in one stamp. I haven’t explored the cling type. It’s cheaper than the clear ones and easy to store. It looks good specially the ones from Inque and comes in adorable colors. The only draw backs are you can’t manipulate the stamps and although the image is stamped at the back it’s still better to see the clear stamps outcome in your layout than this.

In my stamp stash you’ll find those for journaling, flourishes, a couple of alpha/number sets and those images I can use over and over again. I try to buy those that I get more “mileage” so it’s worth the investment. 🙂

I’m sure you guys will find what suits your needs. In any case you might find stuff around the house that you can use as stamps like this:

This is a coaster I bought on my way to Clark Air Base (departing for Singapore).

I’m using it at my scrap table and while I tinker around I thought it would be cool to use it as a stamp. The image would be the other way around, but that’s what makes it cool!

But if you really want it to come out on the right side, use acetate or any clear plastic and transfer the image to your layout.

Otherwise, you can let it dry and layer the plastic with the stamped image, it’ll add dimension to your layout.

Explore scrapabilities!
Inspire life.

Leave a Reply

